Print Page | Sign In
ALER Laureate Award

ALER Laureate Award

This annual award (begun in 1996) recognizes a ALER member and is based on the following criteria:
1) Influence on other reading professionals through mentoring, teaching, and other activities,
2) Longevity of membership in ALER,
3) Research, publications, and presentations that involve collaboration with students, teachers, and other professionals, and
4) Participation in ALER conferences/activities such as serving on the Board of Directors and/or on commissions/committees (conference registration provided).

All ALER Awards are given to individuals to acknowledge special services and/or significant contribution to the ALER Association, or who, by personal example and leadership, have actively contributed to the progress and growth of the ALER Association. Awardees must be members of ALER.

This award is determined by an Awards Committee chaired by the Past President of ALER. This person speaks at the J. Estill Alexander Forum for Leaders in Literacy at the conference and receives an engraved plaque.


This year’s recipient is Dr. Rita M. Bean

Past Winners

No Recipient, 2018
Jeanne Cobb, 2017
Elizabeth Sturtevant, 2016
Wayne Linek, 2015
Mary Roe, 2014
D. Ray Reutzel, 2013
Judy S. Richardson, 2012
Robert J. Rickelman, 2011
Jack Cassidy, 2010
Nancy Padak, 2009
Victoria J. Risko and Marino Alvarez, 2008
Maria Valeri Gold, 2007
Timothy Rasinski, 2006
Allen Berger, 2005
Donna Alvermann, 2004
Jerry L. Johns, 2003
Linda Gambrell, 2002
Betty S. Heathington, 2001
Jeanette Veatch, 2000
Patricia S. Kosiken, 1999
Albert J. Mazurkiewicz, 1998
J. Estill Alexander, 1997
Lillian R. Putnam, 1996


Contact Us by Mail
Dr. April Blakely, Bus. Manager
4076 Loblolly Lane
Richmond, KY 40475
United States
ALER seeks to stimulate the self-development and professional growth of professors, teachers, reading specialists and students at all educational levels. We encourage the continuing improvement of college and university curricula and assist preparation programs for teachers and reading specialists. Our members work at the forefront of policy, pedagogy and practice.  Further, we encourage the continuing improvement of administrative, clinical, diagnostic and instructional practices related to the learning process.
Follow Us: