Print Page | Sign In
Jerry Johns Promising Researcher Award

The Jerry Johns Promising Researcher Award

This annual award (begun in 2007) was established by Jerry Johns and ALER to honor and support research by a junior ALER member whose work is beyond the dissertation stage. The award of $500 recognizes research that addresses significant questions for reading/literacy and extends understanding of its development, assessment, and/or instruction from early childhood to adult level.

An applicant must be nominated by a ALER member, and should be a junior-level researcher (Assistant Professor in the first five years after initial appointment). 

All ALER Awards are given to individuals to acknowledge special services and/or significant contribution to the ALER Association, or who, by personal example and leadership, have actively contributed to the progress and growth of the ALER Association. Awardees must be members of ALER.

This award is determined by an Awards Committee chaired by the Past President of ALER.

2018: Katherine L Wright

Past Winners

No Recipient, 2017
Tammy Donaldson, 2016
Mary McGriff, 2015
Chase Young, 2014
Sarah Clark, 2013
Seth Parsons, 2012
Evan T. Ortlieb, 2011
Deanna M. Laverick, 2010
Donna Mahar and Cindy D. Jones, 2009
Caitlin McMunn Dooley, 2008
Mayra Daniel, 2007

Contact Us by Mail
Dr. April Blakely, Bus. Manager
4076 Loblolly Lane
Richmond, KY 40475
United States
ALER seeks to stimulate the self-development and professional growth of professors, teachers, reading specialists and students at all educational levels. We encourage the continuing improvement of college and university curricula and assist preparation programs for teachers and reading specialists. Our members work at the forefront of policy, pedagogy and practice.  Further, we encourage the continuing improvement of administrative, clinical, diagnostic and instructional practices related to the learning process.
Follow Us: