Print Page | Sign In
A.B. Herr Award

A.B. Herr Award

This annual award (begun in 1972) is presented for distinguished service in reading. It recognizes a professional educator who has made outstanding contributions to the field of reading.

All ALER Awards are given to individuals to acknowledge special services and/or significant contribution to the ALER Association, or who, by personal example and leadership, have actively contributed to the progress and growth of the ALER Association. Awardees must be members of ALER.

 This award is determined by an Awards Committee chaired by the Past President of ALER. The winner is given an engraved plaque.


The 2019 winner is Dr. Marino C. Alvarez


Past Winners

Dr. Debra Coffe, 2018
Evan Ortlieb, 2017
Barbara Marinak, 2016
No recipient, 2015
Susan Neuman, 2014
William Rupley, 2013
Not awarded in 2012
Donald J. Leu, 2011
Elizabeth G. Sturtevant, 2010
Norman A. Stahl, 2009
Robert B. Cooter, Jr., 2008
Jack Cassidy, 2007
Judy Richardson, 2006
David Reinking, 2005
William A. Henk, 2004
Nancy D. Padak, 2003
Victoria J. Risko, 2002
Richard Allington, 2001
Rita Bean, 2000
Patricia S. Koskinen, 2000
D. Ray Reutzel, 1999
John E. Readence, 1998
Barbara Walker, 1997
Tim Rasinski, 1996
Jerry L. Johns, 1995
Linda B. Gambrell, 1994
Donna Alvermann, 1993
Lois A. Bader, 1992
Sidney J. Rauch, 1991
J. Estill Alexander, 1990
Richard T. Vacca, 1989
Albert J. Mazurkiewicz, 1988
Jeanette Veatch, 1986
Jules Abrams, 1985
Ira E. Aaron, 1984
Roy Kress, 1983
Lillian R. Putnam, 1982
Phil Nacke, 1981
Walter Pauk, 1979
Dorothy Sullivan, 1976
J. Roy Newton, 1974
M. Jerry Weiss, 1973
Robert M. Wilson, 1973
Uberto Price, 1972



Contact Us by Mail
Dr. April Blakely, Bus. Manager
4076 Loblolly Lane
Richmond, KY 40475
United States
ALER seeks to stimulate the self-development and professional growth of professors, teachers, reading specialists and students at all educational levels. We encourage the continuing improvement of college and university curricula and assist preparation programs for teachers and reading specialists. Our members work at the forefront of policy, pedagogy and practice.  Further, we encourage the continuing improvement of administrative, clinical, diagnostic and instructional practices related to the learning process.
Follow Us: