Print Page | Sign In
J. Estill Alexander Future Leaders in Literacy Award

Call for submissions for the 2018 conference will be made available in May.

J. Estill Alexander Future Leaders in Literacy Award

This annual award (renamed in 2001 when Estill passed away, formerly the Leaders in Literacy Award) recognizes the mentoring provided by Estill to his many students and the outstanding research conducted by current students. It provides a scholarship, complimentary conference registration, a plaque, and one year ALER membership for the Dissertation Award ($300 and $500 for travel) and Master’s Research Paper Award ($200 and $500 for travel). Awardees make presentations at the conference. These awards are determined by the ALER Research Committee. Nomination materials for the J. Estill Alexander Future Leaders in Literacy Awards should be sent to the Chair/s of the Research Committee.

Winner of the Dissertation Award, 2017

Dr. Elizabeth Bemiss

University of West Florida

Title: "Discursive Intersections: Tracing the Becoming of Pre-service Teachers—An Action Research Study"

Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Diane Stephens, University of South Carolina


Winner of the Master's Research Paper Award, 2017

Chang Yuan

North Carolina State University

Title: “Reading Like an Economist: A Multi-Case Study”

Faculty Sponsor: Dr. Hiller Spires, North Carolina State University 


Katherine Landau Wright, 2016                          Paula Di Domenico, 2015
Danielle Mieure, 2014
Amie Sarker, 2013
Michael Mandarino, 2012
Taylar B. Clements, 2011
Jennifer Anne Cowgill, 2010
Cindy D. Jones, 2009
Cheryl L. Potenza-Radis, 2008
Carla Wonder-McDowell, 2008
Donna Wake, 2007
Roberta Linder, 2006
Barbara Ann Marinak, 2005
William Muth, 2004
Jacqueline Lynch, 2003
Michelle Marie Fazio, 2002
Suzanne A. Viscovich, 2001
Christine A. McKeon, 2000
Barbara S. Abromitis, 1999
Linda S. Wold, 1998
Lawrence R. Sipe, 1997
JoAnn Rubino Dugan, 1996
Jan K. Bryan, 1995
Victoria Ridgeway, 1994
Gaoyin Qian, 1993
Elizabeth G. Sturtevant, 1992
Patricia L. Scharer, 1991
Nancy B. Cothern, 1990
Linda Haren Irwin, 1989
Kathleen David, 1988
K. Roskos, 1987
Timothy V. Rasinski, 1986
Lynn Smith, 1985
Sandra U. Gibson, 1984
Robert B. Cooter, Jr., 1984
Ernest Balajthy, 1983
Mary Ann Medley, 1982
Karen D. Wood, 1982
Daniel Pierce, 1982

Casey Medlock Paul, 2016                                         No recipient, 2015
Amber Howard, 2014
Lesley Alison Gear, 2013
No award in 2012
Robin Mattis Mara, 2011
Laura Elizabeth Bernfield, 2010
Daniel Allbery, 2009
Susan E. Perkins, 2008
Amy Alexandra Wilson, 2007
Wendy Warnken, 2005
Susan Barnes Porter, 2004
Tracy Zimmerman, 2003
Cindy Hayes-Low, 2002
Joan Scott Curtis, 2001
Stephanie Gerdes, 2000
Elizabeth M. Kingery, 1999
Brenda M. Greene, 1998
Melissa L. Brock, 1997
Karen E. Schroeder, 1996
Linda B. Hunter, 1995
Randale Reese, 1994
Rebekah E. Legman, 1992
Francis K. Hurley, 1991
Lisa H. McGary, 1990
Delilah Shotts, 1989
Karen Podey, 1988
Mary Jane Pearce, 1987
Cynthia M. Battalgia, 1986
Martha W. Johnson, 1985
Harvey M. Rubenstein, 1984
Judith R. Marolf, 1984
Janet M. McConologue, 1984
Lynn Ellen Keeter, 1983
Renee Close Goostree, 1982
Dorothy Champlin, 1982
Margaret B. Robertson, 1981
Phyllis Chatlos, 1981
Anne Osbourne, 1981
Linda J. Payne, 1980
Diane M. LaSorte, 1980
Alice R. Edlredge, 1980
Concetta G. Hicks, 1979
Wendy S. Keeler, 1979
Patricia Borowiec, 1979
Patricia Fisher, 1978
Ernest Balajthy, 1978
Sara Strous, 1978



Contact Us by Mail
Dr. April Blakely, Bus. Manager
4076 Loblolly Lane
Richmond, KY 40475
United States
ALER seeks to stimulate the self-development and professional growth of professors, teachers, reading specialists and students at all educational levels. We encourage the continuing improvement of college and university curricula and assist preparation programs for teachers and reading specialists. Our members work at the forefront of policy, pedagogy and practice.  Further, we encourage the continuing improvement of administrative, clinical, diagnostic and instructional practices related to the learning process.
Follow Us: