Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Jerry Johns Promising Researcher Award

The Jerry Johns Promising Researcher Award

This annual award (begun in 2007) was established by Jerry Johns and ALER to honor and support research by a junior ALER member whose work is beyond the dissertation stage. The award of $500 recognizes research that addresses significant questions for reading/literacy and extends understanding of its development, assessment, and/or instruction from early childhood to adult level. An applicant must be nominated by a ALER member, and should be a junior-level researcher (Assistant Professor in the first five years after initial appointment). This award is determined by an Awards Committee chaired by the Past President of ALER.


This year’s recipient is Dr. Tammy Donaldson.

Past Winners

Mary McGriff, 2015
Chase Young, 2014
Sarah Clark, 2013
Seth Parsons, 2012
Evan T. Ortlieb, 2011
Deanna M. Laverick, 2010
Donna Mahar and Cindy D. Jones, 2009
Caitlin McMunn Dooley, 2008
Mayra Daniel, 2007

Sign In
Sign In securely
ALER Notes & News Blog